Rex Education and Partners Celebrate Outstanding LGUs in the 2nd Gawad Edukampyon for Local Governance Awards

For the second consecutive year, the Gawad Edukampyon for Local Governance recognizes local government units (LGUs) and their leaders for their remarkable initiatives and extraordinary efforts whose outcomes benefit their communities and help change lives.

This gathering was organized by Rex Education, in collaboration with esteemed partners, including the Department of Education (DepEd), Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), Early Childhood Care and Development (ECCD) Council, and Center for Local Governance and Professional Development, Inc. (CLGPD). The ceremony was a celebration and heartfelt tribute to the integrity, respect and professionalism, unity of purpose, excellence, and resilience of LGUs and local chief executives (LCEs).

Championing Education: LGUs and LCEs Making a Difference

LGUs and LCEs have integral roles in nurturing their communities, from delivering basic services to going beyond—unfazed by challenges and taking solid action, they contribute to providing quality education and nation-building. As education duty-bearers and public servants, they are resolute champions. Their examples and stories inspire.

Through the Gawad Edukampyon, Rex Education recognizes not only ideals but also celebrates actual results. REX honors all the dedicated LGUs and LCEs—education duty-bearers improving the lives of fellow Filipinos in the communities they serve.

The 2nd Gawad Edukampyon is also a platform to share their stories, inspire others, and cultivate collaboration among LGUs nationwide.

Honoring Exemplar LGUs and LCEs Nationwide

A total of 37 provinces, cities, and municipalities, along with their respective LCEs, were acknowledged for their achievements and innovations during the awarding ceremony held on May 4, 2024, at Novotel, Quezon City.

Here are the recipients of the Gawad Edukampyon for Local Governance Awards:

Gawad Edukampyon for Capacity Development

  • PROVINCE: Cavite: Hon. Juanito Victor C. Remulla (Governor)

Manila City: Hon. Maria Sheilah H. Lacuna-Pangan (City Mayor)

Cagayan de Oro City: Hon. Rolando A. Uy (City Mayor)

  • COMPONENT CITY: Koronadal City, South Cotabato: Hon. Eliordo U. Ogena (City Mayor)
  • MUNICIPALITY: Barcelona, Sorsogon: Hon. Cynthia G. Falcotelo-Fortes  (Municipal Mayor)

Gawad Edukampyon for Learning Continuity Plan

  • PROVINCE: Cotabato: Hon. Emmylou Taliňo – Mendoza (Governor)
  • HIGHLY URBANIZED CITY: Cagayan De Oro City: Hon. Rolando A. Uy (City Mayor)
  • COMPONENT CITY: Balanga, Bataan: Hon. Francis Anthony Garcia (City Mayor)
  • MUNICIPALITY: Cabagan, Isabela: Hon. Christopher A. Mamauag (Municipal Mayor)

Gawad Edukampyon Para sa Barangay

  • Gawad Edukampyon for Barangay Social Services: Barangay Talipapa, Quezon City: Hon. Atty. Eric R. Yuan (Punong Barangay)
  • Gawad Edukampyon for Barangay Justice, Security, and Disaster Preparedness

Barangay Sta. Cruz, Guiguinto, Bulacan: Hon. Emmanuel S. Joson (Punong Barangay)

Barangay Caloocan, Koronadal South Cotabato: Hon. John L. Maanay

  • Gawad Edukampyon for Barangay Governance: Barangay Malvar, Santiago City, Isabela: Hon. Manuel G. Santiago (Punong Barangay)
  • Gawad Edukampyon for Barangay Accountability:Barangay  Malvar, Santiago City, Isabela: Hon.  Manuel G. Santiago (Punong Barangay)
  • Gawad Edukampyon for Fiscal Management:Barangay Malvar, Santiago City, Isabela: Hon. Manuel G. Santiago (Punong Barangay)

Gawad Edukampyon for Early Childhood Care and Development (ECCD)


  • BULACAN: Hon. Daniel R. Fernando (Governor)
  • MISAMIS ORIENTAL: Hon. Peter M. Unabia (Governor)
  • APAYAO: Hon. Elias C. Bulut Jr.  (Governor)
  • QUIRINO: Hon. Dakila Carlo E. Cua (Governor)
  • SOUTH COTABATO: Hon. Reynaldo S. Tamayo Jr. (Governor)

Highly Urbanized City

  • QUEZON CITY: Hon. Ma. Josefina G. Belmonte (City Mayor)
  • ILOILO CITY: Hon. Jerry Perez Treňas (City Mayor)
  • MUNTINLUPA CITY: Hon. Rozzano Rufino B. Biazon (City Mayor)
  • CAGAYAN DE ORO CITY: Hon.  Rolando A. Uy (City Mayor)
  • CITY OF MANILA: Hon. Maria Sheilah H. Lacuna-Pangan (City Mayor)

Component City

  • SANTIAGO CITY, ISABELA: Hon.  Alyssa Sheena P. Tan (City Mayor)
  • ROSA CITY, LAGUNA: Hon. Arlene B. Arcillas (City Mayor)
  • TAGUM CITY, DAVAO DEL NORTE: Hon. Rey T. Uy (City Mayor)
  • ALAMINOS CITY, PANGASINAN: Hon. Arth Bryan C. Celeste (City Mayor)
  • TAGAYTAY CITY, CAVITE: Hon. Abraham N. Tolentino (City Mayor)


  • SURALLAH, SOUTH COTABATO: Hon. Pedro M. Matinong Jr.  (Municipal Mayor)
  • MARAMAG, BUKIDNON: Hon.  Atty. Jose Joel P. Doromal (Municipal Mayor)
  • DUPAX DEL NORTE, NUEVA VIZCAYA: Hon. Timothy Joseph E. Cayton (Municipal Mayor)
  • GUIGUINTO, BULACAN: Hon. Agatha Paula A. Cruz  (Municipal Mayor)
  • NAAWAN, MISAMIS ORIENTAL: Hon. Dennis L. Roa (Municipal Mayor)
  • PANDI, BULACAN: Hon. Enrico A. Roque (Municipal Mayor)
  • OBANDO, BULACAN: Hon. Leonardo DC. Valeda (Municipal Mayor)

Congratulations to all the awardees.

The program was also live-streamed via the REX Facebook page. Revisit the ceremony here:

Edukampyon is REX’s pledge in action. It is an invitation to everyone to consciously champion education. As an advocacy and mission, it engages education duty-bearers and aims to build their capacities for respecting, protecting, and fulfilling every Filipino learner’s right to quality education.