23 entries advance to World Slasher Cup 1 grand finals

Twenty-three entries are heading to the grand finals of the first edition of the 2024 World Slasher Cup 9-Cock Invitational Derby after scoring impressive wins in the elimination and semi-final rounds. 

The much-awaited 4-cock grand finals is scheduled on February 4, Sunday, at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

The top fighters competing in the 4-cock grand finals are Osang Dela Cruz, Joe Paneda/Ron Aguado, and Arnel D. Pangilinan; all with 5 wins and no loss.

Also battling it out in the grand finals is the combined entry of Rey “Tata Rey” Briones and Tony Kho (Spartans Uno), after scoring 4 wins and 1 draw at the end of the semi-final round.

Other top fighters on the grand finals list are Paul & Duce Romias/Tata Rey, Doc Don/Jaycee Gee/Fiscalizer, Danny Lim/Neil Figueroa, Don Destura, Niño Yee/Jeofrey Gonzales, Engr. Amy T. Lauron, George Alapag, Bobby Fernandez/James Uy, Rico Manalansan, Christian/Howie/Claude Bautista, Tom Hernandez, Joseph Panganiban, Jun Limpiado, Lando Flores/Roger Castro/Baguio City, VG Lacson/JB Bernos/Mario Siochi Jr/ John Lee, Tinasol Gamilla/Adolf James Gamilla, Chris Pons/Eddie King/Jun/Moy, Frank Berin/Jeremy Berin/Justin Berin, and Kenneth Boy/Lenman/Daday; all with 4-2 record each at the end of the semi-final round. 

Cockers who scored 3.5 points, 3 points, 2.5 points, and 2 points will battle it out in the pre-finals on February 3, Saturday. 

Meanwhile, another 82 entries will be competing in tonight’s second day of the semifinal round for a chance to join the first batch of finalists. Some of the names on the semi-finals list are Fiscal Villanueva, Atty. De Castro/Walter Ozaeta, Dadz Ge Mentiza/Dylan Castillo/Nad Mendoza, Engr. Emer Sumigad, Manny Jidaria/M. Pua, Mel Lim, Leo Nogoy, Marlon Viadd, Edwin Santiago/Randy Palmer/BDJ, Felix Gatchialian/Pat Gatchialian, Gaspar Legaspi Jr/Danilo Mandap, Joseph Panganiban, Albert Dichavez, Franny/Joy Brillantes/Jonel Dacquez from Abra, Engr. Pal Bolivar, Roel Facundo/Jojo Bacar/Beng Joson/Kap Lolong, Vernie/Vlad Legaspi/Danny Portillo/Donland Reyes/Ryan Mercado, Biboy Enriquez/Jorge Goitia aka Chuck Norris, Reymond Escarlan, Ernie Lagundi/Alex Lagundi, Jimmy Junsay/Dennies Reyes/Bobby Inigo, Nene Araneta, and Nestor Mercado/LitoOrillaza.

Fans who wish to witness the action live at the Smart Araneta Coliseum may get their tickets at Ticketnet or at www.worldslashercup.ph.